How to delete your Netflix viewing history

Grinvalds/123RF

Are you sharing a Netflix account with friends or family and don’t want them to know you watched The Cobbler? Is one of your college roommates still using your login to watch weird anime? Or maybe you’re simply tired of Netflix recommendations that don’t hit the mark.

There are plenty of reasons you might want to clear your Netflix viewing history, and thankfully, the process for doing so is incredibly simple — even if it’s not immediately obvious. Everybody has streaming skeletons in their closets, so go ahead and clear yours out. Here’s how to delete your Netflix viewing history.

Step 1: First, log into your Netflix account using your browser of choice. Because your viewing history is specific to your individual profile, you’ll need to make sure you choose the right profile if there are multiple users under your login. If you accidentally select the wrong profile, don’t worry, you can choose a different one using the drop-down menu in the upper-right corner.

How to delete your Netflix viewing history

Step 2: Next, head to the aforementioned drop-down menu in the right corner and select the button labeled Account.

How to delete your Netflix viewing history

Step 3: Once there, scroll down to the My profile section, and click the blue link labeled Viewing activity. This will take you to a page showing everything you’ve watched.

How to delete your Netflix viewing history

Step 4: To the far right of each entry will be a circle-backslash “no” symbol. (Editor’s note: The images below show an “X” instead of the newer circle-backslash icon that Netflix has employed, but you get the idea.)

How to delete your Netflix viewing history

Clicking this icon will remove the entry from your history (and, thus, eliminate any impact it may have had on your personalized recommendations). It may take up to 24 hours for the change to take effect, though.

How to delete your Netflix viewing history

Something to keep in mind: For television shows, each episode will be listed individually, labeled by season and episode title. Clicking the circle-backslash icon on a single show will only remove that specific episode. You will then receive a prompt asking if you want to remove the entire series, and a quick click will do just that.

How to delete your Netflix viewing history

Step 5: Want to delete your entire viewing history in one fell swoop? Now you can. Scroll to the bottom of the list and you should see a link that says Hide all. Click that, then choose Yes, hide all my viewing activity on Netflix’s confirmation pop-up. After 24 hours, your history will be gone.

And that’s all there is to it! The offending titles — or episodes, as it were — will be removed from your history and nobody will know of your secret love for Happy Tree Friends.

If you found this article helpful, you may also want to check out our guide on how to download movies from Netflix, as well as our picks for the best TV shows on Netflix and the best movies on Netflix. Happy streaming!

Editors' Recommendations

You may also like...